A Guide to Bad Code

Hello World!

This week, I want to dive into a common issue that's hard to ignore: the abundance of bad code. I'm not just talking about messy code, but code that's often designed outside the software engineering realm by folks who care little about code quality and make do with inadequate tools. I've been thinking about this topic a lot lately because I had two close encounters with some very questionable code: OneLoop structured text and the Yolo County voting machines.

The Structured Text Language

I'm currently a programmer for the UC Davis HyperLoop team. We take part in SpaceX's annual HyperLoop competition, where teams from around the globe race to create the fastest pod. These pods race through a vacuum tube built by The Boring Company in Hawthorne, and the fasest wins. I recently applied for a leadership position, but regardless of the outcome, I plan to stick around as a programmer for the team next year.

There has been one major issue with me working as a programmer on this team though, and that is the fact that HyperLoop is primarily a mechanical engineering project. This means that most of the members, despite being talented mechanical engineers, don't loose too much sleep over code quality. As one of them said to me recently, "to a mechanical engineer, programming is a tool, to a programmer, programming is an art".