MyoBanding under Quarantine

Hello World!

email

Whelp, like all of us, I am currently stuck at home! Things have been a bit crazy lately so I haven’t posted in a while, but I figured that I should join the ranks of the many internet denizens who are creating things for people to do while they are stuck inside. Honestly, I’m a programmer so the shelter in place order that California has issued is not hard to comply with. As one of my coder friends told me recently, our lives are basically quarantine already.

I’ve been trying to keep Oneloop as functional as possible under the circumstances, which is difficult when we don’t have access to the enormous test drive that is currently in Chevron labs. Basically, in the lab we have a very large stand that contains a very heavy wheel. If you want to test a motor, you attach it to the test stand and make it turn the wheel. If you want to test brakes, you use a motor to turn the wheel and then try to brake it. There is a smaller test that we could easy carry out of Chevron Labs, but it’s very sketchy. It might give incorrect data, and if the motor is faster than we expected there is the small but existing chance that the wheel will fly off and hit somebody which would be very bad. So we are trying to make do without the test stand, but it’s going to be hard!

a halbach array
A halbach array