The Code Life

Hello World! Hope life has been treating you well.

I’ve been coding more this past week than I ever have before in my life, and it’s wonderful. I’ve been working on controls code for LLNL, designing a website for a friend’s mom, working on an app for fishing that this fisherman is paying me to do, and learning C++. I’m also studying cryptography which isn’t code but is certainly computer related. Anyways code is wonderful, even when you can’t get LSSserializer.write to accept an OutputFormat object as its second input.

gross code
Yes this is a real comment for code that I have actually read in real life.

There are three main issues when migrating code from Java 8 to Java 11. The first thing is the libraries. In Java 11 you need to import some libraries from jar files because they are no longer part of the included Java library. The second thing is the signatures. Some of the code went through signature changes, such as the vector class and my boss and I have been going through the code changing around the signatures. The part that is hardest, and in my opinion the most fun, is the unit tests. Writing unit tests for code that works is much for fun than writing code for pre-made unit tests! You just have to pass in a couple things to the code and see if they match the expected responses.

The website design is fun too, and fairly simple. It’s just front end design which is easy, the catch is that the webmaster is an artist! So I can’t just ignore the design, because she will definitely notice if it’s bad. Depending on how much time I have, I’ll either just ask her for a color scheme, or learn how to design myself and then run it by her.