Interview results and Jello Biafra

Hello World!

When I applied to be hyperloop lead, there were a couple positions that I applied for. Power lead, controls lead, breaks lead, etc. The only positions that I didn’t apply for were business lead, because I’m not particularly skilled in that area yet, and president, because I’m a freshman and most of the other applicants were seniors and masters students. The current president is this really awesome senior who is probably going to be working for spinlaunch next year.

The competition was really strong, so I wasn’t really expecting to get the lead position. However, in the middle of the session, the controls lead told me to go to the next room and told me that I was now the lead for the power subteam! Essentially, it was my job to ensure that our pod had some way of powering all the systems so that it would move. I’m a computer engineer, not a mechanical engineer, but this seemed like something that I could do. He then told me about the other leads, who are all really awesome people who I’m excited to work with next year. Then he told me that they had decided to make me president.

So I’m definitely happy to be the president, but mostly I’m just confused. I’m a programmer, not a mechanical engineer, and the president of the hyperloop team has to make sure that all the systems work together, as well as helping to design them. If it were just a position where I had to make sure that 62 people came to all the meetings, I would be fine, but I’m going to have to be doing some serious engineering next year. So I accepted the position, and am certainly happy to have it, but like I said I’m mostly just confused. Also, why did they make me president and the power lead? Does this mean I have to be president of myself? This makes no sense!

Anyways, that was exciting and extremely unexpected.

drone